United Nations WGAD Decision on the Arbitrary Detention and Illegal Transfer of 6 Turkish Nations from Kosovo to Turkey

United Nations Working Group on Arbitrary Detention (WGAD) confirmed at its 88th Session that serious human rights violations committed by the Authorities of Kosovo and the Government of Turkey against Kahraman Demirez, Mustafa Erdem, Hasan Hüseyin Günakan, Yusuf Karabina, Osman Karakaya, and Cihan Özkan on the 24-28 August 2020.


In the report A/HRC/WGAD/2020/47, many violations clearly are stated for the people as mentioned above who were arrested, detained, and forcefully transferred to Turkey on March 29, 2018, according to arbitrary and in violation of international human rights norms and standards. The Authorities of Kosovo and the Government of Turkey have violated both more than 16 Articles.


Working Group calls on the Government of Turkey to take urgent action to ensure the six individuals’ immediate release. And the Government of Turkey and the Authorities of Kosovo accord the victims an enforceable right to compensation and other reparations under international law.

During the past three years, the Working Group has noted a significant increase in the number of cases brought before it concerning Turkey’s arbitrary detention.


Even though the Turkish Government has not taken any step yet, the Ombudsperson Institution of Kosovo concluded that the authorities violated domestic and international law.


To read the full report of Working Group on Arbitrary Detention in PDF.

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *